Loading Scoreboard...

Wildcats Fall to Amarillo

(Photo: Troy Young)

WICHITA FALLS, Texas – The Wildcats (6-2-2) battled hard to overturn an early deficit against the Amarillo Bulls (5-2-1) on Saturday, but could not complete the comeback, losing 6-3.

Tyler Ledford scored his first goal of the season in the loss, while Jordan Jancze and Nick Farmer also scored for Wichita Falls. Max Reisinger had a strong game in the losing effort as well, picking up two assists.

After these two teams played 65 minutes of scoreless hockey on Friday, the Bulls opened the scoring fairly early in the first period. With the Bulls on the power play, Joe Grabowski’s shot found its way through heavy traffic in front of Chase Munroe to make it 1-0.

Amarillo doubled its lead at 4:11 of the second period when Kyle Gattelaro slammed home a rebound from Mitchell McPherson’s initial shot to make it 2-0.

The Wildcats clawed their way back even with a late-period surge at the end of the middle frame. First, Ledford stuffed home a loose puck after a wrap-around attempt to make it 2-1 at 17:25 of the second. Jancze then tied the score with 11.1 seconds left in the period, roofing a shot from in close after Reisinger and Hogan Davidson had worked the puck loose.

The Bulls took control of the game in the third period however, with Brendan McGuire scoring two goals within the first 8:14 of the final frame to make it 4-2.

Wichita Falls cut the lead to one when Nick Farmer scored shorthanded with 9:29 left in the third, but the Wildcats could not find a game-tying goal, despite a 17-9 shot advantage in the third period. Grabowksi and Adem Arifi each potted an empty-net goal to take the final score to 6-3.

The Wildcats return to the ice on Friday, Oct. 11 when they host the Odessa Jackalopes. Puck drop is scheduled for 7:05 p.m. at Kay Yeager Coliseum.

Scoring Summary


Amarillo – Joe Grabowski (power play) (Matt Sieckhaus) 7:52


Amarillo – Kyle Gattelaro (Mitchell McPherson, Cody Gylling) 4:11
Wichita Falls – Tyler Ledford (Max Reisinger, Andrew Kerr) 17:25
Wichita Falls – Jordan Jancze (Max Reisinger, Hogan Davidson) 19:49


Amarillo – Brendan McGuire (unassisted) 4:07
Amarillo – Brendan McGuire (Cody Gylling) 8:14
Wichita Falls – Nick Farmer (shorthanded) (Josh Haverstrom) 10:31
Amarillo – Joe Grabowski (empty net) (Roman Ammirato, Matt Sieckhaus) 19:07
Amarillo – Adem Arifi (shorthanded) (empty net) (Brady Ferguson) 19:26