Loading Scoreboard...

Charyszyn Scores in Loss to Brahmas

(Photo: Troy Young)

WICHITA FALLS, Texas – Kevin Charysyzn scored a power-play goal for the Wichita Falls Wildcats, but it was not enough to prevent the Lone Star Brahmas from skating away with a 5-1 victory at the Kay Yeager Coliseum on Saturday night.

The Wildcats controlled the first frame, outshooting the Brahmas 15-6 in the period, but Lone Star was first on the board against the run of play, as Pat Egan scored on the power play at 11:40 of the first.

Lone Star increased its lead in the second, with Sebastian Vidmar finding the back of the net from a scramble at the side of the crease, but Wichita Falls responded soon after.

With the ‘Cats on the power play, Matt Koch held the zone at the left point. After a head fake to open a shooting lane, Koch wristed it towards the net where Charyszyn tipped it home to make it 2-1 on his fifth goal of the season.

The Brahmas reestablished their two-goal quickly however, as Roman Uchyn managed to squeeze a shot under David Zevnik out of a netmouth scrum at 15:08 of the second period.

After a goaltending change to start the third, the Wildcats upped the pressure, but could not beat TJ Black in the Brahmas net. Lone Star then tacked on two more goals in the third from Eric Carreras and Sebastian Vidmar to make it 5-1.

The Wildcats are next in action when they travel to Amarillo on Friday, Oct. 10. Video coverage will be available on FASTHockey.com, with an audio-only broadcast available on YouTube.

Stay updated on the latest team news and notes by connecting with the Wildcats on Facebook (WFWildcats), Twitter (@WFWildcats), Instagram (WFWildcats) and on YouTube (Wichita Falls Wildcats).

Scoring Summary

1st Period

Lone Star – Pat Egan (power play) (Anton Santesson, Sebastian Vidmar) 11:40

2nd Period

Lone Star – Sebastian Vidmar (Cody Wickline, Eric Carreras) 7:09
Wichita Falls – Kevin Charyszyn (power play) (Matt Koch, Nick Farmer) 11:26
Lone Star – Cody Wickline (Hayden Hanson, Pat Egan) 15:07

3rd Period

Lone Star – Eric Carreras (Oskar Andren, Andy Madej) 13:03
Lone Star – Anton Santesson (empty net) (Roman Uchyn, Pat Egan) 13:47